Calling Dr. Laura A Graphic Memoir (2013) by Nicole Georges.

Comics And...Other Imaginary Tales: Indies Previews for ...

Calling Dr. Laura
A Graphic Memoir (2013) by Nicole Georges. Published by Mariner Books; Illustrated edition.

An honest, touching recollection of Nicole Georges life’s story.

Nicole Georges grew up believing she became a half-orphan when her father died in his 30s.

What would happen if you went to a palm reader, and the reader suggested that your father — might still be alive?

This is the beginning of this book and touching story of George’s life.

I’ve read many memoirs in the past and this is one Georges is of the best graphic memoirists. She is able to tel the funniest and most compelling bits out of a life story, and make the story flow smoothly and this is one of the book’s great strengths . Some books I’ve read get stuck up on showing and focusing too much on sexuality. I really admire how Georges dealt with that theme here. It should be a living example to other artists, memoirists and queer books out there.

A theme I picked up throughout the whole book was “father”, “parents” and “identity”. I had no idea what this book was about. It was a very timely reading for me last week. As I’m writing this today marks 40 days that my father passed away. As I read this book I was reminiscing events with my father. It reminded me that I was one of the lucky ones in the world to have a father.

Thank you  Nicole Georges for sharing your story and reminding me about this.

Reflective Scripture:
(Colossians 3:21)
“Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.”

Nicole Georges' graphic novel Calling Dr. Laura, reviewed.
Calling Dr. Laura : NPR

Cited Work:

Georges, Nicole J. Calling Dr Laura : A Graphic Memoir. Boston, Ny, Mariner Books, Cop, 2013.

Leave a comment